Tottenham appoint Jose Mourinho as Mauricio Pochettino’s successor – Football – Sporting Life

Tottenham Hotspur have appointed Jose Mourinho as their new head coach after sacking Mauricio Pochettino on Tuesday night.

Pochettino’s five-and-a-half reign at Spurs was ended just six months after guiding the club to the Champions League final after a poor start to the new campaign and rumours of a divided and unhappy changing room. Tottenham become Mourinho’s third English club, having managed Chelsea twice and Manchester United, and has signed a contract until the end of the 2022-23 season. Mourinho said: “I am excited to be joining a club with such a great heritage and such passionate supporters. The quality in both the squad and the academy excites me. Working with these players is what has attracted me.”


The Portuguese left Old Trafford, his last job, in December 2018, having won the Europa League and Carabao Cup, but failed to return the club to champions of England. At Chelsea he delivered three Premier League titles and one FA Cup in his two spells and still lives in London. He takes over a Tottenham side that has failed to live up to the high standards they’ve set themselves in recent years, currently sitting 14th in the Premier League with no wins in their last five matches and just three victories all season.


Spurs Chairman Daniel Levy said: “In Jose we have one of the most successful managers in football.


“He has a wealth of experience, can inspire teams and is a great tactician. He has won honours at every club he has coached. We believe he will bring energy and belief to the dressing room.” Having won the Champions League with Porto; the league, cup and Champions League Treble at Inter Milan; and the La Liga title with Real Madrid, Spurs fans will hope Mourinho can inspire his new stable of underperforming stars to finally turn potential into trophies.

Spurs’ last silverware was the League Cup in 2008, while Mourinho has picked up 20 trophies since 2003.

Jose Mourinho club-by-club record


BENFICA (September 20, 2000 to December 5, 2000)
Played: 11
Won: 6
Drew: 3
Lost: 2
Win percentage: 54.55%
Trophies: None


UNIAO DE LEIRIA (July 2001 to January 23, 2002)
Played: 20
Won: 9
Drew: 7
Lost: 4
Win percentage: 45.00%
Trophies: None

PORTO (January 23, 2002 to May 26, 2004)
Played: 127
Won: 91
Drew: 21
Lost: 15
Win percentage: 71.65%
Trophies: Primeira Liga (2003, 2004); Portuguese Cup (2003); UEFA Cup (2003); Champions League (2004).


CHELSEA (first spell: June 2, 2004 to September 20, 2007)
Played: 185
Won: 124
Drew: 40
Lost: 21
Win percentage: 67.03%
Trophies: Premier League (2005, 2006); League Cup (2005, 2007); FA Cup (2007).


INTER MILAN (June 2, 2008 to May 28, 2010)
Played: 108
Won: 67
Drew: 26
Lost: 15
Win percentage: 62.04%
Trophies: Serie A (2009, 2010); Italian Cup (2010); Champions League (2010)


REAL MADRID (May 31, 2010 to June 1, 2013)
Played: 178
Won: 128
Drew: 28
Lost: 22
Win percentage: 71.91%
Trophies: Primera Division (2012); Copa del Rey (2011).


CHELSEA (second spell: June 3, 2013 to December 17, 2015)
Played: 136
Won: 80
Drew: 28
Lost: 28
Win percentage: 58.82%
Trophies: Premier League (2015); League Cup (2015).


Played: 144
Won: 84
Drew: 31
Lost: 29
Win percentage: 58.33%
Trophies: EFL Cup (2017); Europa League (2017)